SANFL Digital Pass

All discussions to do with the SANFL

SANFL Digital Pass

Postby Brett » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:16 pm

I enjoy watching as many SANFL games as I can but is there a reason there is only one camera angle ?It would be good from the games point of view to see the Grandstand side as that where people stand ? Im not technically aware but if that what the SANFL , then do it professionally.
Brett
League Bench Warmer

Has liked: 86 times
Been liked: 68 times

Re: Digital Pass

Postby Big Phil » Sat Apr 20, 2019 11:38 pm

Brett wrote:I enjoy watching as many SANFL games as I can but is there a reason there is only one camera angle ?It would be good from the games point of view to see the Grandstand side as that where people stand ? Im not technically aware but if that what the SANFL , then do it professionally.

There is already a thread started up on the Digital Pass - viewtopic.php?f=1&t=42610

The reason for the one camera angle is because the vision that you see was only ever intended to be filmed for coaching purposes.

The contractor that does the filming is a Audio Visual business engaged by the SANFL to provide vision for reviewing of games by coaches.

The Digital Pass and coverage of years gone by (SANFL Streaming and Pine Lodge Studios etc) was derived from the existing resource already there.

It is never going to be a full on Production like you are with multiple camera angles because the demand is not there nor the funding to provide extra equipment.

In terms of filming from the opposite side of the grandstands, that is simply not possible for two very obvious reasons. First and foremost, the filming would then be directly into the sun and there is no infrastructure in place to film.

You would need to put in scaffolding, which often is expensive because of it's temporary nature, and can also require extensive approval from council and relevant OH&S compliance needing to be met.