ODI World Cup 2019

First Class Cricket Talk (International and State)

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Lightning McQueen » Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:08 am

FlyingHigh wrote:The great thing everyone seems to have appreciated about the World Cup is there has been a real contest, it didn't become 20-20 cricket extended over 50 overs - some big runs were scored, other times bowling and low scoring created great games.

But it was decided by two playing conditions introduced specifically for the limitations of 20-20 cricket, and not considering one-day cricket is more diverse.

That's just not right.


I love the 50 over format, it has several elements in it, not just who can get lucky on the night.
HOGG SHIELD DIVISION V WINNER 2018.
User avatar
Lightning McQueen
Coach
 
Posts: 38167
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:43 am
Location: Radiator Springs
Has liked: 2605 times
Been liked: 4685 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby FlyingHigh » Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:18 am

It is still a great format when there is something proper on the end of it, but unfortunately there have been too many perfunctory games played over the last 25 years.
I'd like to see an Aus-SA-NZ tri-series held every two years with games in each country to give some meaning to our summer one-dayers.
FlyingHigh
Assistant Coach
 
Posts: 4517
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:12 am
Has liked: 62 times
Been liked: 107 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Jim05 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:30 am

I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?
Jim05
Coach
 
 
Posts: 40428
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:03 pm
Has liked: 1063 times
Been liked: 2452 times
Grassroots Team: South Gawler

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Senor Moto Gadili » Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:55 am

Jim05 wrote:I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6.
If England had the opportunity to not take the 4 over throws, I wonder if they would have done it?
The rules say England get 4 runs, but they could have orchestrated a way. Stokes could have carried on like a dick until the umpires awarded 5 penalty runs and then in return New Zealand could have bowled a wide next ball.
Last edited by Senor Moto Gadili on Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Senor Moto Gadili
League - Best 21
 
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:52 pm
Has liked: 80 times
Been liked: 269 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby mighty_tiger_79 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:02 am

This match
The tournament as a whole, shows how much better this style is over the 20/20

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Booooooooooo
User avatar
mighty_tiger_79
Coach
 
Posts: 46543
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: at the TAB
Has liked: 8017 times
Been liked: 2139 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Jim05 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:02 am

Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6

But that isn’t the rule is it?
Jim05
Coach
 
 
Posts: 40428
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:03 pm
Has liked: 1063 times
Been liked: 2452 times
Grassroots Team: South Gawler

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Senor Moto Gadili » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:09 am

Jim05 wrote:
Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6

But that isn’t the rule is it?

I think it is. How do you come up with 1 + 4?
Senor Moto Gadili
League - Best 21
 
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:52 pm
Has liked: 80 times
Been liked: 269 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Senor Moto Gadili » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:18 am

Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:
Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6

But that isn’t the rule is it?

I think it is. How do you come up with 1 + 4?

Law 19.7.3.2 .... definitely 2 + 4
Senor Moto Gadili
League - Best 21
 
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:52 pm
Has liked: 80 times
Been liked: 269 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Jim05 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:22 am

Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:
Senor Moto Gadili wrote:[quote="Jim05"]I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6

But that isn’t the rule is it?

I think it is. How do you come up with 1 + 4?

Law 19.7.3.2 .... definitely 2 + 4[/quote]
But it says except in circumstances of Law 19.8


19.8 Overthrow or wilful act of fielder

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be
any runs for penalties awarded to either side
and the allowance for the boundary
and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had
already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.

When Guptil threw the ball the batsmen hadn’t crossed for their second run
Jim05
Coach
 
 
Posts: 40428
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:03 pm
Has liked: 1063 times
Been liked: 2452 times
Grassroots Team: South Gawler

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Lightning McQueen » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:28 am

Senor Moto Gadili wrote:I think it is. How do you come up with 1 + 4?

No, it's what run they were going for when the run out opportunity took place, If they were coming back for the 2nd then yes, it is 6.
HOGG SHIELD DIVISION V WINNER 2018.
User avatar
Lightning McQueen
Coach
 
Posts: 38167
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:43 am
Location: Radiator Springs
Has liked: 2605 times
Been liked: 4685 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby FlyingHigh » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:30 am

Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6.
If England had the opportunity to not take the 4 over throws, I wonder if they would have done it?
The rules say England get 4 runs, but they could have orchestrated a way. Stokes could have carried on like a dick until the umpires awarded 5 penalty runs and then in return New Zealand could have bowled a wide next ball.


Can you explain this one? You've lost me!!
FlyingHigh
Assistant Coach
 
Posts: 4517
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:12 am
Has liked: 62 times
Been liked: 107 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Lightning McQueen » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:39 am

FlyingHigh wrote:
Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6.
If England had the opportunity to not take the 4 over throws, I wonder if they would have done it?
The rules say England get 4 runs, but they could have orchestrated a way. Stokes could have carried on like a dick until the umpires awarded 5 penalty runs and then in return New Zealand could have bowled a wide next ball.


Can you explain this one? You've lost me!!

Just watched the replay, it is 6, they were on their way back for the 2nd, Stokes did nothing wrong, he wasn't even going to run any more as the ball deflected off of him, if a fielder had of stopped it they would've made only 2, unfortunate but nothing sinister.
HOGG SHIELD DIVISION V WINNER 2018.
User avatar
Lightning McQueen
Coach
 
Posts: 38167
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:43 am
Location: Radiator Springs
Has liked: 2605 times
Been liked: 4685 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby FlyingHigh » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:46 am

Yeah, I know why it was six runs, it was the rest of the post that lost me.
FlyingHigh
Assistant Coach
 
Posts: 4517
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:12 am
Has liked: 62 times
Been liked: 107 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Lightning McQueen » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:50 am

FlyingHigh wrote:Yeah, I know why it was six runs, it was the rest of the post that lost me.

If you're looking for sense on this site you've come to the wrong place.
HOGG SHIELD DIVISION V WINNER 2018.
User avatar
Lightning McQueen
Coach
 
Posts: 38167
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:43 am
Location: Radiator Springs
Has liked: 2605 times
Been liked: 4685 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Jim05 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:52 am

Lightning McQueen wrote:
FlyingHigh wrote:
Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6.
If England had the opportunity to not take the 4 over throws, I wonder if they would have done it?
The rules say England get 4 runs, but they could have orchestrated a way. Stokes could have carried on like a dick until the umpires awarded 5 penalty runs and then in return New Zealand could have bowled a wide next ball.


Can you explain this one? You've lost me!!

Just watched the replay, it is 6, they were on their way back for the 2nd, Stokes did nothing wrong, he wasn't even going to run any more as the ball deflected off of him, if a fielder had of stopped it they would've made only 2, unfortunate but nothing sinister.

Am I interpreting the law incorrectly?

19.8 Overthrow or wilful act of fielder

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be
any runs for penalties awarded to either side
and the allowance for the boundary
and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had
already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.

Now they hadn’t crossed at the instant of the throw by my reckoning
Jim05
Coach
 
 
Posts: 40428
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:03 pm
Has liked: 1063 times
Been liked: 2452 times
Grassroots Team: South Gawler

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby FlyingHigh » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:59 am

FlyingHigh
Assistant Coach
 
Posts: 4517
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:12 am
Has liked: 62 times
Been liked: 107 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Jim05 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:04 pm

FlyingHigh wrote:https://www.nzherald.co.nz/cricket/news/article.cfm?c_id=29&objectid=12249636

You may be right Jim

Probably not but the debate came up this morning at work with a Kiwi bloke so I thought I would read up on the laws.
The wording is quite ambiguous IMO
Jim05
Coach
 
 
Posts: 40428
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:03 pm
Has liked: 1063 times
Been liked: 2452 times
Grassroots Team: South Gawler

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby daysofourlives » Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:36 pm

19.8 Overthrow or wilful act of fielder

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be
any runs for penalties awarded to either side
and the allowance for the boundary
and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had
already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.

Now they hadn’t crossed at the instant of the throw by my reckoning[/quote][/quote]

I maybe wrong but I think this law refers to a case where say you've got me chasing the ball to the longest boundary and it pulls up just inside the rope but I kick it over because the batsman are going to run 5. They get the 5 they have already run plus the 4 for the boundary
Who's our BITCH
Supercoach Spring Racing Champion 2019
daysofourlives
Coach
 
 
Posts: 9025
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:35 pm
Has liked: 1679 times
Been liked: 1220 times
Grassroots Team: Angaston

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby Senor Moto Gadili » Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:43 pm

FlyingHigh wrote:
Senor Moto Gadili wrote:
Jim05 wrote:I’m still at a bit of a loss as to why England were awarded 6 for that overthrow. Shouldn’t it have been 5 only?

They had completed two runs when the ball got to the boundary, so 2 + 4 = 6.
If England had the opportunity to not take the 4 over throws, I wonder if they would have done it?
The rules say England get 4 runs, but they could have orchestrated a way. Stokes could have carried on like a dick until the umpires awarded 5 penalty runs and then in return New Zealand could have bowled a wide next ball.


Can you explain this one? You've lost me!!

Haha, it was a tongue in cheek way that England could have given the 4 runs they got from the overthrow back. The laws say the 4 runs stand, but the two sides could have contrived events to give the 4 runs back. I recall Pat Rafter deliberately serving a double fault after his opponent got a bad call, so it was along those lines.
Senor Moto Gadili
League - Best 21
 
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:52 pm
Has liked: 80 times
Been liked: 269 times

Re: ODI World Cup 2019

Postby gadj1976 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:05 pm

Jim05 wrote:But it says except in circumstances of Law 19.8


19.8 Overthrow or wilful act of fielder

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be
any runs for penalties awarded to either side
and the allowance for the boundary
and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had
already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.

When Guptil threw the ball the batsmen hadn’t crossed for their second run


Like many, this is the first time I've ever known the exact details of this rule. I'm nearly 50 and played cricket from about aged 9 till I was 30. Just amazing it's come to the fore in a world cup final.
User avatar
gadj1976
Coach
 
 
Posts: 7279
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:57 pm
Location: Sleeping on a park bench outside Princes Park
Has liked: 216 times
Been liked: 437 times

PreviousNext

Board index   Other Sports  Cricket

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests